Understanding the Chakra Colors: Quick Reference Guide

The seven chakras are energy centers in your subtle body. Each chakra is associated to a color. Together, the chakra colors make up the colors of your aura. 

Share on facebook
Share on pinterest

Chakra Color Chart

Remember ROY-G-BIV from science class? Each color on the visible spectrum vibrates at a particular frequency. Each of these seven colors are tied to a chakra. So when you hear about raising your vibration, or balancing chakras, that’s a referencing to returning each energy center to their normal frequency. Below are their chakra colors, along with their corresponding name, energetic frequency, guiding emotions and themes. Which chakra color grabs your eye first? This is your intuition’s way of letting you know where you need healing!

chart of chakra names with corresponding colors, frequencies, emotions, and themes

Red - Root Chakra

The color red is associated to the root chakra, and carries the energy of stability, belonging, and being grounded. If you’re drawn to the color red, your root chakra may need some balancing. This is especially true when you’re experiencing any of the following:

  • moving to a new home
  • changing jobs
  • going through a breakup or divorce
  • spending lots of time on creative projects 
  • you’re feeling unsafe
  • shifts in your tribe
  • when there’s a lot on your plate and you’re feeling scattered 

Learn more about how to balance your root chakra here: Ultimate Guide to Your Root Chakra

root chakra spray you're grounded


Balances the root chakra with essential oils and crystal essences.

Orange - Sacral Chakra

The color orange is all about motivation, passion, and the things that bring you pleasure in life. If you’re drawn to the color orange, your sacral chakra may need some balancing. Here are some of the common reasons for an imbalance in the sacral chakra:

  • feeling unmotivated or stuck
  • change in relationships status   
  • sexual trauma or suppressed sexuality
  • money worries
  • conflict with another person  
  • tension in parent-child relationships
  • imbalance of power in your partnerships

Learn everything there is to know about sacral chakra here: Ultimate Guide to Your Sacral Chakra

pleasure principle sacral chakra spray


Balances the sacral chakra with essential oils and crystal essences.

Yellow - Solar Plexus Chakra

Yellow is carries the vibration of confidence, personal power, and self trust. Bring more yellow into your life whenever you:

  • are doubting your abilities 
  • need a boost of courage 
  • conflict with another
  • can’t make a decision
  • experience anxiety 

Learn more about the solar plexus chakra in: Ultimate Guide to Your Solar Plexus Chakra

power pose solar plexus chakra spray


Balances the solar plexus chakra with essential oils and crystal essences.

Green (or Pink) - Heart Chakra

The heart chakra is very special because it’s your love center! It’s associated to two colors, both green and pink. These colors emit the energies of love, compassion, forgiveness, and harmony. If you’re going through any of the following, bring more of these colors into your life:  

  • the need forgive yourself 
  • unreleased grudges, regret, or resentment 
  • unhealed heartaches
  • grieving the loss of a loved one 
  • challenges with self-love

Learn everything there is to know about heart chakra healing here: Ultimate Guide to Your Heart Chakra

feel the love heart chakra spray


Balances the heart chakra with essential oils and crystal essences.

Blue - Throat Chakra

Blue aligns with the throat chakra, which is your center for communication and self-expression.  Blue’s vibration helps you speak your truth, by allowing your words to reflect what’s in your heart. Blue is your healing color if you struggle with:   

  • speaking up for yourself
  • omit or bend the truth to avoid conflict 
  • defer to others to speak for you 
  • shyness   
  • struggle with finding the right words to say

Learn everything there is to know about throat chakra healing here: Ultimate Guide to Your Throat Chakra

speak your truth throat chakra spray


Balances the throat chakra with essential oils and crystal essences.

Indigo - 3rd Eye Chakra

Indigo is the color of your third eye chakra, which is your psychic center.  Bring more of this color into your life if you’re struggling with:

  • ability to see the truth of a situation
  • confusion  
  • if you’re open to developing your natural psychic abilities
  • inability to notice signs and messages from your spirit team/higher self
  • lack of vision for the future

To learn how to open your third eye, read this: Ultimate Guide to Your Third Eye Chakra

crystal visions third eye chakra spray


Balances the third eye chakra with essential oils and crystal essences.

Violet (or White) - Crown Chakra

Violet is the color of your crown chakra, and carries the vibration of divine perspective, and oneness. You can use this powerful color if you’re struggling with: 

  • seeing the ‘big picture’ of a situation
  • the meaning of specific events 
  • confusion around life purpose 
  • if you’re seeking deeper spiritual meaning in your life

This is the highest vibration of all the chakra colors, and it’s very common for it to come out of balance as you navigate your human life. To learn how to bring balance to your crown chakra, read: Ultimate Guide to Your Crown Chakra

heaven's door crown chakra spray


Balances the crown chakra with essential oils and crystal essences.

Which of the chakra colors are calling to you? Drop your answer in a comment below!

XO,  Andrea

About The Author

Andrea has been practicing aromatherapy and reiki in Central NY since 2016. She's been featured in publications such as Energy Magazine.
Andrea Scalisi wearing yellow shirt
Andrea Scalisi

To read more about Andrea, click here. Feel free to reach out with questions or feedback on the Contact form.

Related Articles

Self-care starts here!

We'll help you remember just how worthy you are.

Leave a Reply!

%d bloggers like this: